Deleting your Shazam data

We hope you've a great time discovering media with Shazam, but if you'd like to wipe the slate clean here's how:

 

If you haven't previously created a Shazam account...

Just uninstall the app from your device. Please note that your tags are stored within the app and so we will have no way of locating them once removed.

 

If you created a Shazam account using your email address...

You can simply log out of your Shazam account and uninstall the app. Please note that your tags are stored within the app and so we will have no way of locating them once removed.

You may also wish to remove your email address from our mailing list. You can find instructions on how to do this here: http://bit.ly/1favXkR 

 

If you have signed into Facebook in Shazam...

Select either 'Log out' or 'Disconnect from Facebook' in the settings menu of the Shazam app, and then delete the app from your phone. 

You may also wish to remove your email address from our mailing list. You can find instructions on how to do this here: http://bit.ly/1favXkR  

Please note that your Facebook details will still exist in our database, but in an anonymised state. This is so that, if you decide to connect your Facebook details again in the future, we can automatically link you back up to your old discoveries straight away. As the data is anonymised, no-one at Shazam can manually access it.

 

Do I have to do anything within Facebook itself?

Facebook automatically creates 'apps' for most games and services you download and use via their service. To ensure your tags are not automatically uploaded to our site again, remove the 'app' from Facebook directly. Here's how: 

1) Go to your Facebook Profile and place your cursor over 'More' and then select 'Shazam'.

 

2) In the top right corner, there is a 'Manage' icon. Select 'Shazam Settings' as shown below.

 

3) Select 'Remove App' as seen below.

 

4) The following prompt will be seen. Click 'Remove' to finish the process.

 

If you decide to sign into Shazam using your email address or Facebook details in the future, you will automatically be reconnected to any previous Shazams you made. This is because your previous details are kept in our database in an anonymised state. Since your details are anonymised, no-one at Shazam can manually access them.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk